Our partner Studiosity has recently opened a call for nominations regarding the Tracey Bretag Prize for Academic Integrity.

Professor Tracey Bretag was an academic at the University of South Australia and spent the past decade at the forefront in the field of academic integrity prior to her passing in late 2020. Professor Bretag has been a driving force for research in the space as well as pushing for policy improvements that shift the way academic integrity is considered and managed.

Professor Bretag’s work influenced significant change within higher education and helped develop historic federal legislation. As a result, the Government has passed legislation that makes it an offence to provide or advertise academic cheating services in higher education. The new law is aimed at those who provide and advertise cheating services and not at students. Students who cheat will continue to be subject to institutions’ own academic integrity policies, processes and academic sanctions. These institutional policies are not affected by the new law.

In recognition of Tracey’s outstanding contributions to the international academic integrity sphere, the Tracey Bretag Prize for Academic Integrity is awarded annually for advancing understanding of best practice and demonstrating impact of initiatives.

The 2022 Tracey Bretag Prize winners were Dr Sam Cunningham, Dr Sarah Dart, Dr Edmund Pickering, Rick Somers, and Sheona Thomson and Dr Caslon Chua of Swinburne University, who developed an innovative software tool called UPASS that detects academic misconduct and aims to prevent it before it occurs.

This prize is a testament to the hard work of the team, but also to the growing momentum QUT has in tackling academic misconduct”, says Dr Pickering.  “As highlighted by TEQSA, this is a national priority, and QUT leading the charge.

Have you or a colleague advanced the understanding of best practice for academic integrity? Maybe you know someone who has? You can nominate them here.  

The prize is $5000 AUD and nominations close Wednesday, 31 May 5.00pm (AEST).

Further Enquiries

Tracey Bretag Prize for Academic Integrity: awards@studiosity.com

Academic Integrity @ Macquarie University: Riley O’Keeffe, Academic Integrity Project Manager, riley.okeeffe@mq.edu.au

Posted by Riley O'Keeffe

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *