On Wednesday 2 December, we announced the winners of the annual Vice-Chancellor’s Learning and Teaching Awards. The ceremony was held virtually (see the video below), a first for these awards in what has been an unprecedented year. Congratulations to both our highly commended finalists and winners.

Our teachers have risen to the challenge this year and have been flexible and innovative in the way they teach and engage with our students. We value and acknowledge our Learning and Teaching community and these awards are a way to recognise all the extraordinary work that takes place each day across the University.

“I would personally like to commend the amazing efforts of all our staff and their teams during a year like no other. These awards are integral to recognising our staff who are engaged and committed to transforming and progressing learning and teaching at Macquarie,” said Professor Dominique Parrish, PVC (Learning and Teaching) during the ceremony.

Vice-Chancellor’s Learning and Teaching Student-nominated Award
This award recognises teachers who have been nominated by students for teaching excellence and for making a difference to learning.

Zara BendingFaculty of Arts
Dr Jennifer LaiMacquarie Business School
Nandini KumarMacquarie Business School
Associate Professor Kevin BrooksFaculty of Medicine, Health and Human Sciences
Associate Professor Naomi SwellerFaculty of Medicine, Health and Human Sciences

Vice-Chancellor’s Learning and Teaching Sessional Staff Award
This award recognises sessional or casual staff for their commitment to student learning and effective teaching approaches.

Leeanne Mendonca DeMelloMacquarie Business School

Vice-Chancellor’s Learning and Teaching Early Career Award
This award recognises staff with less than five years of teaching experience for their quality teaching.

Dr Rimante RontoFaculty of Medicine, Health and Human Sciences

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Learning Innovation (Team Award)
This award recognises staff for their development and implementation of innovations to improve learning, teaching or assessment to enable, motivate, support and inspire students to learn.

Dr Morwenna Kirwan and team members: Professor Catherine Dean, Associate Professor Verity Pacey, Dr Kelly Gray and Alexandra BhattiFaculty of Medicine, Health and Human Sciences

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Teaching Excellence
This award recognises staff for their excellence in teaching and support of learning, and the impact they have on motivating and inspiring students to learn.

Associate Professor Erik LundmarkMacquarie Business School

Vice-Chancellor’s Educational Leader Award
This award recognises staff educational leaders and how their leadership has influenced and enhanced learning and teaching and/or student experience.

Trish BehanMacquarie University English Language Centre

Further information about the Awards can be found on the Vice-Chancellor’s Learning and Teaching Awards website.

Posted by Asimo Krizan

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *