The Faculty of Human Sciences did exceptionally well at the recent Academic Staff Awards. 

Congratulations to all the winners listed below and to all the academics who were nominated.  This really is an outstanding result. 

Research Awards

Professor Jennie HudsonExcellence in Higher Degree Research Supervisor of the Year Award

Dr Celia HarrisExcellence in Research:  five future-shaping research priorities: Healthy People

Nicholas Everett – Excellence in Higher Degree Research

Learning and Teaching Awards

A/Prof Tiffany JonesVice-Chancellor’s Learning & Teaching Student Nominated Award

Lauren Florentia EhrenfeldVice-Chancellor’s Learning and Teaching Sessional Staff Award

A/Prof Matt Bower Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Teaching Excellence


The following staff were also nominated as finalists:

Associate Professor Paul Sowman The Jim Piper Award for Excellence in Research Leadership

Dr Miriam Forbes Macquarie University Early Career Researcher of the Year (HASS)

Dr Milena Gandy Macquarie University Early Career Researcher of the Year (HASS)

Ms Cathleen Taylor-Rubin – Excellence in Higher Degree Research (HASS)

Dr Lina Teichmann – Excellence in Higher Degree Research (HASS)

Associate Professor Naomi Sweller – Vice-Chancellor’s Learning and Teaching Student Nominated Award

Distinguished Professors

Congratulations to our newest Distinguished Professor :

Ingrid Piller. – Department of Linguistics

Existing distinguished professors renominated for a new term:

  •  Anne Castles – Department of Cognitive Science
  • Katherine Demuth – Department of Linguistics

Posted by Kylie Coaldrake

Learning and Teaching Development Coordinator Office of PVC (Learning and Teaching)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *